Major Monday – English

Today’s Major Monday is from Ms. Holland, an English teacher here at Lowell Catholic.

1. What did you major in college?  Where did you go to college?

My major in college was English.  I went to the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, MA.

2. Is this your original major?  If not, what was your original major?  Why did you decide to change?

I went into college Undeclared and debated many different majors, and I finally decided the Fall of my sophomore year.

3. What made you choose this major?

I chose this major after I took a variety of core classes at college.  My favorite classes and professors were all in the English department.  I found English to be the class that I looked forward to going to.

4. What classes/topics did you enjoy studying the most while in college?

I enjoyed my Medieval Literature classes the most, but that was because I has the most incredible professor for those courses.  I also enjoyed American literature courses.

5. What advice do you have for students looking to study your major?

I would advise students to go to office hours!  This is really for any major.  I found that visiting my professor for extra help allowed me to learn so much more!

Thank you for sharing, Ms. Holland!!

Leave a Reply

