Major Monday – Humanistic Studies

This week’s Major Monday is from Ms. Rizzo, a Spanish teacher here at Lowell Catholic!

1. What did you major in college?  Where did you go to college?

I attended Saint Mary’s College in Notre Dame, IN.  I majored in Humanistic Studies (an interdisciplinary degree studying literature, art, religion, philosophy, and history of the Western World) and minored in Spanish and Religious Studies.

2. Is this major your original major?  If not, what was your original major?  Why did you decide to change?

This was the first major I declared at Saint Mary’s College.  When I enrolled, all I knew was that I wanted to study Spanish and study abroad for an entire academic year.  I took general education classes and classes that interested me my freshmen year.  In the fall semester I took a introductory level Humanistic Studies course and fell in love with the major, and I declared it soon after completing the course.

3. What made you choose this major?

I chose Humanistic Studies because I enjoyed studying a multitude of subjects: literature, art, religion, history, philosophy. I loved that we read and used texts from the great books tradition as a lens to learn about the cultural history of the Western World.  I love to travel; Humanistic Studies allowed me to travel–in the classroom–through time and place.

4. What classes/topics did you enjoy studying the most while in college?

In college I discovered the genre travel writing.  I loved reading about people’s experience “on the road,” encountering new ways of life and different ideas.  I also enjoyed my conversation classes in Spanish.  It was empowering to realize I could communicate in a second language.

5. What advice do you have for students looking to study your major?

Study what interests you.  College is expensive; you should go to class and want to be there.  Studying a subject you find enjoyable makes getting up for an 8am much easier!

 

Great information Ms. Rizzo!  Thank you!

One thought on “Major Monday – Humanistic Studies

Leave a Reply

