Major Monday – Early Childhood Education

Mrs. Varnum, the registrar right here in the guidance department, is this week’s contributor for Major Monday!

1. What did you major in in college?  Where did you go to college?

While attending North Adams State college (now Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts) I majored in Early Childhood Education and minored in Children’s Literature. I then went on to Providence College with a Graduate Assistantship in Residence Life and received my Masters in Special Education. As an added bonus at PC, I met my husband!

Murdock Hall

Murdock Hall at MCLA

2. Is this major your original major?  If not, what was your original major?  Why did you decide to change?

Early Childhood Education and Special Education were my original majors.

3. What made you choose this major?

I chose my Early Childhood major because I had a very talented and influential kindergarten teacher. She made learning fun and I loved going to school. This woman has remained in my life throughout the years. I was fortunate enough to obtain an Integrated Preschool teaching position at the school I attended as a child and my favorite kindergarten teacher was right down the hall!

4. What classes/topics did you enjoy studying the most while in college?

I loved studying child psychology and children’s literature. Children’s books were my weakness when teaching. I have donated many of them to Ste Jeanne d’Arc School and our local library so my love of reading could be shared!

5. What advice do you have for students looking to study your major?

Find a college where you have the opportunity to be in the classroom observing and teaching as much as possible. You’ll learn so much about yourself and it’s something you can put on your resume when you’re looking for that first teaching position!

Thank you, LeeAnn, for taking the time to answer these questions!

Leave a Reply

