Major Monday: Communications and French

“What can I do with a communications major?”  That’s a question we’ve been hearing quite a bit in the guidance office recently.  It turns out that our French teacher, Mrs. DiVincenzo, has some experience in that area!  Hopefully her answers will help anyone thinking about the majoring in communications, or – of course – in French!


1)  What was your college major and where did you go to school?
I graduated from UMass Amherst with a double major in Communications and French & Francophone Studies (and a minor in Modern European Studies)
dubois_pond_chapel_620x305

2)  Was this your original major?  If not, what was your original major and why did you decide to change?
I went into UMass with the comm major because, although I always wanted to be a teacher… I wanted to go into advertising and make LOTS of money!  After doing an internship the summer before my junior year (sales related) I decided that I did not like lying to people.  As I was a few classes away from finishing the comm major (and I enjoyed the classes) I decided to keep at it and add the French major and study abroad for a semester.

3)  What made you choose your major?
I always enjoyed teaching/coaching and French was one of my favorite classes in school.  And it blends well with my passion for traveling!

4)  What were your favorite classes in college?
Mass communication classes (studying the effects of advertising, etc)… I took a few anthropology classes that were also very interesting (the study of culture, etc)… there were a few theater classes that were a lot of fun and helped with public speaking type of situations.

5)  What advice do you have for students interested in the same major?
Comm classes are very interesting, but the comm major in general is not super useful when trying to get a job.  Most job offerings will be entry level (many which don’t even require a degree)
For the French major, there’s essentially 2 options: teaching and translating (which are difficult to come by and are often part time).
 
Thanks for your input, Mrs. DiVincenzo!  If you’re worried about job prospects with a certain major (but it’s something you love studying), combine it with another of your passions.  Internships are great learning experiences.  We so often talk about them possibly leading to future jobs, but they will also give you an idea of it’s what you really want to do for the rest of your life!
Leave a Reply

