Looking Back – Mr. Seebode

This week Mr. Seebode, a member of our Science department, shares his high school memories with us!

pasted-image-0

Name: Mr. Seebode

High School: Union Catholic (Scotch Plains, NJ)

What Were You Like in High School:

I am very grateful for the experiences I had in high school! I had a small, but close friend group and did my best to work hard. One thing I loved about high school were the opportunities to be involved in many different activities and classes. I was a 3 season athlete (cross country, winter track, and spring track), involved in campus ministry, and took 7 AP classes during my Junior and Senior Year. I even formed a club called the “Animal Rights and Endangered Species Club” during my senior year to raise money and awareness for the World Wildlife Fund.

Favorite High School Classes:

I loved the science classes I took in High School. Along with AP Environmental. AP Biology, and physic classes that I took during my junior and senior years, I also took 4 science VHS classes: Oceanography, Animal Behavior & Zoology, Astronomy, and Anatomy.

Advice for My Freshman Self

Be present! It is easy to rush from one thing to another in high school and to always be thinking of the next thing. During school, you’re thinking about practice or time with friends. During your practice or extracurricular events, you are thinking about all the homework you have that night. And at night while you are at home, you are focused about the day or weekend ahead. Be present and in the moment. Enjoy practice and extracurricular events when you are practice. Focus in on school when in class. And be completely present with your friends and family to make the most of their presence. High School is a busy time in your life, but it really helps to be present during each part of your busy schedule in order to make the most of every experience!

 

Thanks for sharing with us, Mr. Seebode!

Leave a Reply

